马达加斯加   |    第二部分:地理    |    第四部分:居民    |    第七部分:野生动物    |    第十八部分:植物    |    第十九部分:环境   |   英语

马达加斯加历史[儿童] - 马达加斯加


[马达加斯加靠近马南布卢河的萨卡拉瓦男孩。]
马达加斯加在大约2000年前开始有人类定居。马达加斯加的定居者要么是印尼人,要么是印尼/非洲人的混血后裔。在公元800-900左右,阿拉伯商人随着在北部沿海贸易地展开也到达了此地。

已知的第一个看到马达加斯加的欧洲人是葡萄牙船长迪奥戈迪亚斯,他在去印度的途中被风刮得偏离了航道,并在1500年8月10日发现了这个岛。他将该岛命名为圣劳伦斯岛。在16世纪后期,葡萄牙,法国,荷兰和英国都试图在马达加斯加建立贸易定居点。所有这些尝试都因为恶劣的环境和当地马拉尕斯战士激烈的反抗而最终失败。

欧洲人直到17世纪后期才在马达加斯加立足,当时海盗统治了该岛的东海岸。这些海盗以马达加斯加作为基地,攻击将货物从印度运回欧洲的船舶。在18世纪,法国试图在东海岸建立军事据点,但再次失败。直到19世纪初, 法国只有圣玛丽岛这么唯一的一个定居点。

同时,在18世纪,西部海岸的萨卡拉瓦人建立了马达加斯加的第一个王国。1810年,他们的对手,梅里纳,建立了包括全岛剩余绝大部分的王国。他们的国王,拉达玛一世建立了与英国的关系并向英国传教士打开了国门.传教士们将基督教传播到了马达加斯加全岛并将当地方言转录成书面语言。在拉达玛的统治下,一场小型工业革命将工业化带到了岛上。在拉达玛死后,他的遗孀继承了王位,成为了拉那瓦罗娜一世. 她实行了33年的恐怖统治,其行为包括迫害基督教徒, 驱逐外国人,杀害政治对手,并恢复杀死在不吉利的日子出生的婴儿的习俗。在她死后,马达加斯加同欧洲的关系得到了恢复。

法国于1883年入侵马达加斯加并于1896年确立了对该岛的统治,使它成为了法国殖民地。法国从马达加斯加获取木材和充满异国情调的香料如香草。马达加斯加人民在1918年和1947年分别进行了两次大规模的针对法国人的起义,但直到1960年6月26号才获得了独立。

1975年,迪迪埃拉齐拉开始了对国家的统治。作为一个独裁者,他对马达加斯加的统治一直持续到1991年才因为经济崩溃被推翻。之后不久他再次出任总统, 他这次统治直到2001年在竞选中失败。新总统马克 拉瓦卢马纳纳答应给该国带来民主。拉瓦卢马纳纳通过自己的努力,从推自行车沿街叫卖酸奶起家,最终建立了自己的商业帝国,成为了马达加斯加最富有的人。截至2005年,他仍然是马达加斯加的总统,当地的经济也在不断改善。



< 上一页 | 马达加斯加 | 下一个 >

5 von 26

翻译的邢阳



WildMadagascar

© Rhett A. Butler / wildmadagascar.org 2009

Introduction   |   About Madagascar   |   People   |   Wildlife   |   Plants   |   Environment



MADAGASCAR'S HISTORY for Kids


A Sakalava boy near Manambolo River in Madagascar.
Madagascar was first settled by humans about 2000 years ago. Madagascar's settlers were either Indonesians or people of mixed Indonesian/African descent. Arab traders arrived on the scene around 800-900 A.D. when merchants begin trading along the northern coast.

The first known European to see Madagascar was a Portuguese sea captain, Diogo Dias, who spotted the island August 10, 1500, after he was blown off course on the way to India. He named the island St. Lawrence. Later in the 1500s the Portuguese, French, Dutch, and English all attempted to establish trading settlements in Madagascar. All of these failed due to hostile conditions and fierce fighting by local Malagasy warriors.

Europeans first got a foothold on Madagascar in the late 1600s when pirates ruled the eastern coast of the island. These pirates used Madagascar as a base for attacking ships bringing goods back to Europe from India. In the 1700s, the French attempted to establish military positions on the east coast but again failed. By the early 19th century the only settlement the French could claim was the island of Sainte Marie.

Meanwhile, during the 1700s, the Sakalavas of the western coast established the first kingdom of Madagascar. In 1810, their rivals, the Merina, established a kingdom over most of the rest of the island. Their king, Radama I, established relations with the British and opened the country to English missionaries who spread Christianity throughout the island and transcribed Malagasy into a written language. Under Radama's reign, a miniature Industrial revolution brought industry to the island. After Radama's death, he was succeeded by his widow, Ranavalona I, who terrorized the country for 33 years by persecuting Christians, evicting foreigners, executing political rivals, and reviving the custom of killing babies born on unlucky days. After her death, relations with Europe were restored.

In 1883, France invaded Madagascar and by 1896 had established rule over the island, which became a French colony. France used Madagascar as a source for timber and exotic spices, like vanilla. The Malagasy had two major uprisings against the French, in 1918 and 1947, but the country did not gain independence until June 26, 1960.

In 1975, Didier Ratsiraka took control of the country. He ruled Madagascar as a dictator until he was overthrown in 1991 amid an economic collapse. He regained the presidency shortly thereafter and ruled until losing a contested election in 2001. The new president, Marc Ravalomanana, promised to bring democracy to the country. Having gotten his start selling yogurt on the streets from the back of his bicycle, Ravalomanana built a business empire and became Madagascar's richest man. As of 2005, he is still president and the economy continues to improve.



< Previous Page | Main Page | Next Page >

Page 5 of 27


WildMadagascar Home | For kids | Photos | About the site

© Rhett A. Butler / wildmadagascar.org 2008