主題一:介紹   |   主題二:地理環境   |   主題四:人民   |   Vida 主題七:野生動物   |   主題十八:植物群   |   主題十九:環境   |   English

馬達加斯加的森林砍伐 - 馬達加斯加


[馬達加斯加因毀林所引起的土壤侵蝕空照圖]
造成馬達加斯加的森林砍伐,大部分為三項:焚林開墾式(slash-and-burn)的農業,採伐木材,以及製造煮食用的薪材和木炭。

焚林開墾式(Slash-and-burn)的農業
焚林開墾式的農業,在當地被稱為"tavy",為馬達加斯加文化和經濟中重要的一部分。" Tavy "多是指將馬達加斯加的熱帶雨林轉變成稻田的方式。通常會將一到兩英畝的森林砍伐後,焚燒再種植稻米。 經過一年或兩年的生產耕種後,稻田會閒置四到六年,再重複此段過程。這樣反覆2-3次後,土壤的養分會被耗竭,且土地可能會被灌木叢或雜草大片叢生。於山坡新生的植被大多不足支撐其根系錨定土壤中,因此造成土壤侵蝕和山體滑坡的問題。

" Tavy "是很多馬拉加斯人應需家中生計的方法。這些日常生活仍需待解決的人,難以多顧及他們的行為對長期後果的影響。從他們的觀點而視,只要有大片的森林地可易得開墾,就還是在鄰近的人民開墾前先利用土地。" Tavy "用以種植水稻,還有其精神和文化聯繫的意義,此意義更重要於農作物的經濟與營養價值。

木材的砍伐
在馬達加斯加東部的雨林,木材的採伐尤為環境困難,特別是在馬索亞拉半島(the Masoala peninsula)的木材砍伐。馬達加斯加的硬木有著高價值(主要的黑檀木(ebony)和玫瑰木(rosewood)在國際市場每噸可售得$2,000美元),使得非法採伐在一些保護區成為了非常嚴重的問題。

薪材和木炭的生產
在馬達加斯加特有的多刺森林地區中,正在以驚人的速度砍伐木材以製成木炭。在馬達加斯加的西南部,人們常在路邊販售小堆的木炭以維持生計,通常當地人將周圍植物中的雄偉的亞龍木(Alluaudia tree)作為木炭原料 。




<<< | 馬達加斯加 | >>>

20 von 25





WildMadagascar | Fotos

© Rhett A. Butler / wildmadagascar.org 2010

Introduction   |   About Madagascar   |   People   |   Wildlife   |   Plants   |   Environment



DEFORESTATION IN MADAGASCAR for Kids


Airplane view of deforestation-induced erosion in Madagascar
Deforestation in Madagascar is largely the result of three activities: slash-and-burn agriculture, logging, and the production of fuelwood and charcoal for cooking fires.

Slash-and-burn agriculture
Slash-and-burn agriculture, known locally as tavy is an important part of Malagasy culture and the Malagasy economy. Tavy is mostly used for converting tropical rainforests in Madagascar into rice fields. Typically an acre or two of forest is cut, burned, and then planted with rice. After a year or two of production the field is left unused for 4-6 years before the process is repeated. After 2-3 such cycles the soil is exhausted of nutrients and the land is likely colonized by scrub vegetation or grass. On slopes, the new vegetation is often insufficient to anchor soils, making erosion and landslides a problem.

Tavy is the most expedient way for many Malagasy to provide for their families, and among people whose day- to-day subsistence is in question there is little concern for the long-term consequences of their actions. From their perspective, as long as there is more forest land freely available for clearing, you might as well use the land before a neighbor does. Tavy for rice also has spiritual and cultural ties that transcend the economic and nutritional value of rice as a crop.

Logging for timber
Logging for timber is especially a problem in the rainforests of eastern Madagascar, particularly on the Masoala peninsula. The high value for Malagasy hardwoods (mostly ebony and rosewood which may fetch $2,000 a ton in international markets) makes illegal logging a significant problem in some protected areas.

Fuelwood and charcoal production
The endemic spiny forests of Madagascar are being cut at an alarming rate for charcoal production. In eking out a living by selling little piles of charcoal along roads in southwestern Madagascar, local people turn towards the nearest plant source which in this case is often the magnificent Alluaudia tree.



< Previous Page | Main Page | Next Page >

Page 20 of 27


WildMadagascar Home | For kids | Photos | About the site

© Rhett A. Butler / wildmadagascar.org 2008