马达加斯加   |    第二部分:地理    |    第四部分:居民    |    第七部分:野生动物    |    第十八部分:植物    |    第十九部分:环境   |   英语

马达加斯加综述[儿童] - 马达加斯加


非洲的美国航天局的卫星图像。
马达加斯加是红色圈出的部分。
马达加斯加是位于南部非洲东海岸外印度洋中的一个岛屿。作为世界第四大岛,马达加斯加的面积处于法国和美国得克萨斯州之间。

马达加斯加和非洲大陆已经分离了超过1.50亿年。由于这个原因,在这个岛上发现的大多数植物和动物都是独一无二的。

由于其地处偏远,马达加斯加直到2000年以前还没有人类定居。现在被称作”马拉尕斯(Malagasy)”的岛上的居民是早期横渡印度洋到达这里的印度尼西亚人的后代。阿拉伯人和非洲人在晚些时候到达后,对于岛上独特的文化习俗作出了重要贡献。

经过了一段以东部沿海海盗为标志的时期,马达加斯加在19世纪晚期成为法国殖民地。马达加斯加于1960年赢得了独立,成为了一个民主国家。

马达加斯加的野生动物

大约75%的马达加斯加物种是当地特有的,这意味着在世界上任何其他地方都看不到他们的踪迹。该岛是很多奇特动物的家,包括狐猴(一组灵长类动物),tenrecs(类似于刺猬),颜色鲜艳的变色龙,类似美洲豹的fossa,和其他动物品种。可悲的是,由于栖息地被破坏和狩猎,很多马达加斯加特有的野生动物目前都面临着灭绝的危险。





< 上一页 | 马达加斯加 | 下一个 >

1 von 26

翻译的邢阳



WildMadagascar

© Rhett A. Butler / wildmadagascar.org 2009

Introduction   |   About Madagascar   |   People   |   Wildlife   |   Plants   |   Environment



AN OVERVIEW OF MADAGASCAR for Kids


NASA satellite image of Africa. Madagascar is outlined in red.
[click image to enlarge]
Madagascar is an island located off the eastern coast of southern Africa in the Indian Ocean. As the world's fourth largest island, Madagascar is a little larger than France but slightly smaller than Texas.

Madagascar has been isolated from Africa for over 150 million years. For this reason, most of the plants and animals found on the island exist nowhere else on Earth.

Because of its remoteness, Madagascar was not settled by humans until around 2.000 years ago. The Malagasy -- the name for the people of the island -- are descended from Indonesians who made their way across the Indian Ocean. Arabs and Africans arrived later and made important contributions to the unique cultural practices found on the island.

After a period marked by the presence of pirates along the eastern coast, Madagascar was colonized by the French in the late 19th century. Madagascar won its independence in 1960 and today is a democratic state.

Madagascar Wildlife

About 75% of Madagascar's species are endemic, meaning they live nowhere else in the world. The island is home to strange animals including lemurs (a group of primates), tenrecs (similar to spiny hedgehogs), brightly colored chameleons, the puma-like fossa, and a variety of other creatures. Sadly, due to habitat destruction and hunting, many of Madagascar's unique animals are today threatened with extinction.



< Previous Page | Main Page | Next Page >

Page 1 of 27


WildMadagascar Home | For kids | Photos | About the site

© Rhett A. Butler / wildmadagascar.org 2008